Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Oracle of  Omaha Says – Investing and Stock NewsOracle of  Omaha Says – Investing and Stock News

Latest News

North Carolina rolls back supervision requirements for teen drivers

The mandatory supervised driving period in North Carolina for young people before they can drive by themselves will be scaled back permanently after Gov. Roy Cooper said on Friday he’ll let a bill become law without his signature.

The General Assembly sent Cooper last month legislation addressing in part when a teen can move up from a learner’s permit to what’s called a limited provisional license and drive by themselves.

State law has required a young person to hold the permit for at least 12 months, although lawmakers reduced it to six months temporarily during the COVID-19 pandemic to address delayed driver’s education classes.

The law reverted to 12 months at the end of 2022, but legislators said they were still receiving complaints from parents whose children are trying to get to the next level of driving. So the latest measure reinstates the six-month minimum for the rest of 2023 before settling the time at nine months.

In a news release, Cooper recognized that the legislation passed the General Assembly by a large margin because it should help reduce waiting times for youths seeking their license.

But ‘I have concerns that this law could make our roads less safe and I encourage the Division of Motor Vehicles and the legislature to monitor its effects closely,’ the governor said. Cooper had until Friday night to sign the bill or veto it. Since he’ll do neither, it will become law.

Other rules remain in place. A young driver is eligible to obtain a learner’s permit at age 15 but must be at least 16 to move up to the limited provisional license. In between, the youth must complete 60 hours of supervised driving with an adult — usually a parent — and pass a road test.

The bill also would slightly ease passenger constraints for a limited provisional licensee so that the person could drive someone unrelated to them to and from school. This change begins Aug. 1. The Division of Motor Vehicles said later Friday that the supervised driving period change to six months will take effect starting Monday.

This post appeared first on FOX NEWS

Enter Your Information Below To Receive Free Trading Ideas, Latest News And Articles.

    Your information is secure and your privacy is protected. By opting in you agree to receive emails from us. Remember that you can opt-out any time, we hate spam too!

    You May Also Like

    Editor's Pick

    Everynet, one of the world’s largest network operators for national LoRaWAN® networks, announces it is working with Amazon Web Services (AWS) to offer long-range...


    As more candidates throw their hats into the 2024 Presidential ring, I’d like to offer a proposal that should have immediate bipartisan support: stop...

    Editor's Pick

    The Internet of Things (IoT) is changing the way we interact with technology, and it has the potential to revolutionize the way we manage...

    Editor's Pick

    Semtech Corporation and esteemed engineering design services firm, Connected Development, today announced the launch of the new XCVR Development Board and Reference Design integrating...

    Disclaimer:, its managers, its employees, and assigns (collectively “The Company”) do not make any guarantee or warranty about what is advertised above. Information provided by this website is for research purposes only and should not be considered as personalized financial advice. The Company is not affiliated with, nor does it receive compensation from, any specific security. The Company is not registered or licensed by any governing body in any jurisdiction to give investing advice or provide investment recommendation. Any investments recommended here should be taken into consideration only after consulting with your investment advisor and after reviewing the prospectus or financial statements of the company.

    Copyright © 2023